Canada: Embracing Third-Party Forest Certification

  • Canada leads the world in third-party certification, with more land certified to voluntary, market-based forest programs than any other country.
  • This certification complements Canada's already comprehensive forest management regulations.
  • The three systems used in Canada are the Canadian Standards Association's Sustainable Forest Management Standards (CSA), the Forest Stewardship Council Standards (FSC) and the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI). The CSA and SFI standards are recognized internationally by the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC).
  • By December 2016, Canada had 168 million hectares certified to at least one of the three internationally recognized forest certification programs.
  • Certification programs may have subtle differences but they all promote principles seen as the basis of sustainable forest management around the world. All independent forest certification systems require third-party audits, annual surveillance audits, and public disclosure of findings through audit reports. It is often augmented by chain-of-custody (CoC) certification: an accounting and tracking system that follows a forest product from its source through processing, marketing and sale to its end user.

Certification Canada Global 2016 EN 


Forest Certification

© 2018 CCFM   Privacy Policy   

Canadian Council of Forest Ministers